Home|Contact Us

Property History

This heritage mansion is one of the most distinctive and impressive in Chora, the capital of Kythera: it has unique architectural features and ambiance.

 

The mansion comprises a complex of buildings and structures, with origins dating to the late Venetian period. The Ministry of Culture’s Authority for Byzantine Antiquities estimates the late 18th century, when the settlement of Chora expanded to the east of the Castle.

 

This new neighbourhood was known as "Kastro-chora”, i.e. the settlement outside the castle, and was hallmarked by St. Anna’s church and a windmill. The mansion must have been a prominent building in "St. Anna’s district”, with its unique architectural features, particularly its mighty eight-sided chimney.

 

The main building probably began as a textiles workshop. Other small structures were gradually built to serve as warehouses and workers quarters. The oldest notarial deed traced in the municipal archives dates to the year 1862 when the estate was described as a twin complex: the first being a 4-room house with a cistern (in fact it’s a huge, 6 ½ meters deep water reservoir cut into bedrock) and the second consisting of 2 ruined structures comprising 4 rooms, 3 yards, 2 cooking places and 1 barn. In the late 19th century / beginning of the 20th century a floor was built on top of the 4-room basement. Local tradition has it that around that time the main house became the residence of Kythera's Bishop.

 

 

Two prominent merchants of that time, Stephanos Barbarigos and Ioannis Vostitsanos, acquired the complex under an agreement jointly to undertake its renovation – an early version of a "real estate development”. The project was, however, not completed and in 1921 the property was sold to Kosakis, an influential landlord who gifted the property to his wife. Kosakis’s heirs were financially unable to maintain the mansion, and it was gradually abandoned with parts becoming ruined. After decades of desolation and misery the mansion was renovated into its current stylish form.

 

 

The complex is now named "Kastropolis”, from the Greek words "Kastro” (= castle) and "Polis” (= city), which also implies an urban social hub.

 

Indeed, the mansion’s structure is like a miniature "Polis" with the 2-storey house, the smaller guest house and a tiny chapel, ancillary buildings and the yard with its terraces.